Texting while driving is incredibly dangerous. Here are some statistics from textinganddrivingsafety.com:
In 2011, at least 23% of auto collisions involved cell phones; that’s 1.3 million crashes.
- Five seconds is the minimum amount of time your attention is taken away from the road when you’re texting and driving. If you’re traveling at 55 mph, this equals driving the length of a football field without looking at the road;
- Text messaging makes a crash up to 23 times more likely.
- 13% of drivers aged 18-20 involved in car wrecks admitted to texting or talking on their mobile devices at the time of the crash.
The House Committee on Education and Public Works of the South Carolina General Assembly is considering a bill which makes it illegal to send a text message or receive a text message while driving. The penalty for a first offense is a $250.00 fine or imprisonment for thirty days, and driver’s license suspension for one month. The penalty for a second offense is a $1,000.00 fine or imprisonment for sixty days, a 60-day license suspension and two points on your license. The penalty for a third offense is a $2,500 fine or imprisonment for 180 days, a 6-month license suspension and four points on your license. A person who causes bodily injury while texting and driving is guilty of a felony and upon conviction must be imprisoned for not more than ten years. A person who causes death while texting and driving is guilty of a felony and upon conviction must be imprisoned for not less than five years and no more than 20 years. If the General Assembly passes this bill before the legislative session ends on June 6, 2013, South Carolina will join a number of states who have outlawed texting while driving.
If you or a member of your family is injured by a driver who is texting while driving their vehicle, call the North Charleston car accident lawyers at Callihan Lohr & Syracuse. We will come to the hospital or to your home and fight to get you all the damages you are entitled to.